giving instruction: wk 5 progress report

11/05/2010

So my young pupil started out with little motivation today.  I had to give him a little motivator.

Me: “If you read to pg. 25 I’ll let you play a game on the laptop.”

Pupil: “Really?!”

Some concentrated reading……………………………………………… with small interruptions, as you’ll see.

p. 12

Pupil: “I’m almost to 25!

Me: “Yep, you’re almost halfway there!”

Pupil: “But, you know this (our conversation) is wasting my time,” he stated matter-of-factly.

Me: “Well, let’s get reading then.”

p. 16

Pupil: “Page 16!”

p. 19

Pupil: “Page 19!”

p. 21

Me: “Do you think he (character) washed up like he should?”

Pupil: “No.”

SIDE BAR: “Do you know my Mom bought bubbles for the bath? And you can make it colors, too.”

p. 25

***** Finally, he got to play “games” @ eduplace.com for about 10-15 minutes. *****

We continued reading.

He then noticed I was writing and asked, “Are you writing that I’m being good?  Because I am reading.”  I gave no answer.  I let my little Pupil chatter some more, remembering my son when he was 7 years old.  Then I said, “Well, keep reading because I am writing.”

p. 36 “Hmmm! I’m being good and reading!” Some giddy giggling.

Reads on……………………………………………… till he completed the book.  I think our tutoring session ended on a good note and especially for my little Pupil who is showing improvement.

Leave a Reply

